Hall of Fame (Out of Competition Entry) – The Coup

He Said:  As we continue our search for “our” restaurant, we wanted to write about a place that is unfortunately “out of competition” as I had been here before. The Coup is easily the place we have visited most during our relationship. And I have to say it has never disappointed. Though I do have a couple go to meals, every dish is full of colour, a brilliantly complimentary orgy of tastes and just the right size (even if I tend to force myself to save some so I can eat it for lunch the next day).

I don’t want to scare any of you Alberta grown meat eaters away by saying that yes, The Coup is a vegetarian restaurant. None of the meals have meat, and yet I think this becomes an advantage more than a handicap as they really have to find interesting and inspired choices for dishes. I myself love meat, but find I never miss it when visiting The Coup.

Greek Goddess… the fave dish of this Canadian Goddess

My two favourite dishes are the Greek Goddess and The Beachfront Hot Pot. The greek goddess is a twist on greek salad (which I would eat everyday if I could) which I usually devour. The addition of lentils especially gives the dish a texture that really spotlights the different flavours. As for the hot pot, I can’t explain how much I love the cornucopia of flavours but to use a terrible and overused cliché … “it’s like there is a party in my mouth and everyone is invited”. The coconut lime broth is drool inducing and perfect foil for the veggies. If you love goat cheese (like moi) you can’t not try it, the warm goat cheese spread is a to die for appetizer. Also, the smoothie’s are a great addition to any meal.

I really could go on forever, but I’ll stop at that, and just say if you haven’t been to The Coup, go as soon as you can, and if you have, I’m sure I’ll be seeing you there soon!

She said – I’m dying right now.. It’s usually like pulling teeth to get Ali to write his parts of the blog, but he went ahead and surprised me by starting a Coup entry! Swoon! (I am apparently the easiest girl to please… or Zaidi’s just set the bar low.)

In any case.. the Coup is by far my favourite restaurant in the city. It’s small and intimate, with the kind of funky atmosphere that you wouldn’t expect to find in Calgary. Boy Ali already spoke to my favourite dish (the greek goddess), so I’ll just post a couple other pictures to get you drooling.

Tempeh sticks with maple dijon dipping sauce

Mushroom soup and a Tempeh Shawarma – Hard to say, fun to eat!

Every dish is creative and oh so tasty. The only other dish I’ll speak to (way too many faves to do them all) is the sunflower seed pate. Even if you’re allergic to sunflower seeds, just order it and keep your epi pen handy – it’s too good to miss.

Ali did a great job of describing everything we love about this place, so there’s not much left for me to say! Other than to tell you all to eat here now. Like right now. Even if you’re not hungry. Just drop everything and I’ll meet you there.

Ranking - Location: 5 out of 5 “I Feels” (Less than a 10 minute walk..can’t get any better.)

Service: 4.5 out of 5 “Yay Hurrays” (People that always go out of the way to ensure a happy dining experience. Sometimes, you may have to wait awhile for the bill, but we’re usually so caught up talking we don’t mind.)

Atmosphere: 5 out of 5 “Purple Shirts” (one of our favourite vibes in the city, small, beautiful and homey.)

Nicheness: 3 out of 5 “Green Tights” (the only fault of The Coup is that it is probably one of the busiest places in Calgary. Unless you go at 5pm or 9pm it is pretty much always at least an hour wait, but man is it worth it).

Price: 4.5 out of 5 “Overstuffed Wallets” (All reasonably priced dishes, and one of the few places where you can have a great night out, without spending over $50.00).

Taste: 5 out of 5 “Jeepers” (Every dish is unique, original, and absolutely scrumptious!!).

Overall: 27/30 Yes this would’ve been the place if it was in competition. Regardless of whether you are a vegetarian or not, what makes The Coup so great is that it always offers an amazing meal, friendly service and a memorable night out. Our favourite place in Calgary.

Hiding his shame over pre-disqualifying this place… tsk tsk

The Coup on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

